Shrimp Creole with Savory Sauteed Rice, aka Dixie Shrimp

This recipe is a twist on a classic shrimp creole that my mother introduced me to, and that I added my own twist to last night. It’s simple, and can be as spicy as you want, and in my opinion is absolutely delicious! Have fun making this delicious dinner!

Shrimp Creole with Savory Sauteed Rice, aka Dixie Shrimp

Prep & Cook time: 25 minutes
Yields: 2 servings

1/4 cup dry converted rice – I used 1/2 cup and still found it to be a little wanting.
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp dried thyme leaves
1/4 tsp ground black pepper – I don’t like black pepper so I left this out.
Pinch cayenne pepper
1/2 lb large shrimp, peeled, and deveined, tails on – I tend to remove the tails and butterfly the shrimp, personal preference.
1/2 cup diced ham
2 tbsp olive oil, divided
1/2 cup diced green bell pepper
2 tsp minced garlic
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved – I also don’t like tomatoes, so these stayed out of the recipe.
1/4 cup minced scallions
Tabasco sauce to taste – Use your preferred hot sauce. I have a homemade pepper sauce from Trinidad that I used and it was delicious!

Cook rice according to directions, set aside, keep warm.
Combine salt, paprika, thyme, pepper, and cayenne in a bowl. Add shrimp and toss to coat. Saute shrimp and ham in 1 tbsp olive oil on medium-high heat approx. 4 minutes, until shrimp are cooked. Transfer to bowl, set aside, keep warm.
Return pan to heat, saute green pepper and garlic in remaining 1 tbsp olive oil over medium-high heat until peppers begin to soften (approx. 2 minutes). Stir in tomatoes and rice, cook 3-4 minutes. Add shrimp and ham, combine and warm through. Stir in scallions and Tabasco sauce. Serve.

This recipe originally came from Cuisine At Home magazine, “Cuisine for Two”, page 72.

Enjoy! And do let me know which hot sauce you use, or what modifications you try!

S.

2 thoughts on “Shrimp Creole with Savory Sauteed Rice, aka Dixie Shrimp

  1. Made this for dinner last night, and took a picture (yay!). I used 3/4 cup of rice, which was much better, and I chopped up various colours of peppers, which made the dish prettier. Still one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

