Beef Fajitas with Avocado

After much pestering last night, I got my boyfriend to agree to cook something for dinner instead of ordering in. First suggestion: “spaghetti and meatballs.” At first I’m all “yeah, okay!” because he suggested something we could cook for dinner. And then I pause… “I don’t like meatballs… And I don’t really like spaghetti either…” Needless to say my boyfriend gave me an extremely bizarre look, and soldiered on.

After a few more suggestions got tossed around, we decided on fajitas. Now, I don’t eat beef all that often and I know my poor boyfriend suffers sometimes from a lack of beefy meals, so I found a recipe for…

Beef Fajitas with Avocado

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes
Yields: 4 servings

1 1/2 lb flank steak, trimmed if necessary
1 tbsp ground cumin
1 tbsp chile powder
3/4 tsp black pepper – as usual, I skipped this option
3/4 tsp cayenne
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 heart of romaine lettuce
2 firm-ripe avocados (8 to 10 oz each) – as there were only two of us I only used 1 avocado
12 (6-inch) flour tortillas
1 cup loosely packed fresh cilantro sprigs – we opted out of these
Tomatillo salsa such as Frontera or Desert Rose, optional – we went with Tostito’s medium salsa
Lime wedges, optional – we opted out of these too

Heat your BBQ, flat-top grill, whatever device you decide to use to cook your steak. Combine spices in a dish (cumin, chile, pepper, cayenne, salt) and rub on steak. Cook steak according to preference.
Meanwhile, cut lettuce (the recipe says “into thin shreds”, I just cut the damn lettuce); cut avocado in to 1/4-inch-thick slices.
Once steak has finished, cut into strips (the recipe says to “hold knife at 45 degree angle and cut steak across the grain into thin slices”… we just cut the damn steak). Put some steak, lettuce, and avocado (and cilantro if you want it) on a tortilla, top with salsa, wrap, and eat!

For the original recipe, click here.

Please note in the original recipe, it does not say what to do with the limes. I would squeeze some lime over the steak slices on the fajita. Other than that, I don’t know what you’d do with them. (Maybe a Corona?)

Also, I decided to use the other romaine and made a salad to accompany the fajitas. It was simply lettuce, cucumber, bell peppers, tomatoes (yuck), and balsamic vinaigrette. Almost any kind of salad would go well with this dish though.

Hope you enjoy the avocado and steak combo! My boyfriend had two helpings, so I know he did!

S.

2 thoughts on “Beef Fajitas with Avocado

Leave a Reply

