Brownies with Peanut Butter Icing

So last Sunday, my boyfriend and I decided to be active participants in life, rather than lazing around on the couch all day. We finally decided that baking would be a good way to spend our Sunday afternoon. So we found a recipe for brownies, went and got all the ingredients we needed, and then my boyfriend proceeded to bake while I …sat on the couch and watched TV. I did make the icing though! And ran out to get more margarine when we ran out.

In addition to baking brownies, my boyfriend also made dinner for me (chicken fajitas), and then proceeded to make an angel food cake (Betty Crocker, nothing special). It was hands down one of the best weekends I’ve had in ages!

The brownie recipe we found claims to make the “Best Brownies”, and I must say, they were pretty tasty! Especially with our addition of peanut butter icing instead of the icing recipe that is included in the original. Enjoy!

Best Brownies
Prep time: 25 min
Cook time: 30 min
Yields 1 9″ square pan of brownie goodness! (approx. 16 brownies)

1 cup butter – As usual, we used margarine
2 cup white sugar
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder

Preheat oven to 350F; grease/flour a 9″ square baking pan.

In a large saucepan, melt butter (margarine). Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, eggs, and vanilla extract. Beat in cocoa, flour, salt, and baking powder. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

There is a funny story to go along with these brownies, as there usually is when it comes to my kitchen. So my boyfriend had forgotten to write down how many eggs were needed, and asked me to run and check the recipe on his computer. Well, he’d looked at two different recipes titled “best brownies” on the same website, and when I went to look for the eggs, I looked at the wrong one. The original version of the recipe above calls for 2 eggs, and the second one I looked at calls for 4. When I got back downstairs to the kitchen, my boyfriend asked about vanilla extract, so rather than run back upstairs, I Googled the recipe on my phone. And somehow found the correct one. AFTER my boyfriend had cracked 4 eggs into the bowl. No big deal, we doubled the recipe, which I think worked out better in the end – the batter filled the 9″ an halfway, and the brownies were thick and moist. Therefore I have posted the “doubled” version, since that is what we used, but feel free to half it if you have a smaller pan or prefer thinner brownies.

Click here for the original recipe. (Please note, we did NOT try the icing recipe that comes with the original version.)

Peanut Butter Icing
Prep time: 5 min
Yields: a lot of icing (approx. 2 cups or so)

1/2 cup margarine
1 cup extra smooth peanut butter
3 tbsp hot water
2 cups icing sugar

Blend margarine and peanut butter together; gradually add icing sugar and water (alternating) until desired consistency is reached.

This recipe doesn’t look like much, but it’s delicious, easy, and makes a LOT of icing. We have frozen the leftovers from baking last weekend, but I haven’t checked yet to see if that was a good idea. My advice: cut the recipe in half. And as I like thicker icing, I usually only use 2 tbsp of water, or I add a bit more icing sugar.

This icing recipe originally came from The Happy Baker: A Dater’s Guide to Emotional Baking by Erin Bolger. It’s included with a recipe for chocolate cupcakes, and those are delicious!

These brownies were delicious! I highly recommend them, especially with the peanut butter icing. Happy baking!

S.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION (Brownies – no icing)
Per serving (1 brownie)

Calories, 220
Carbs, 10g
Fat, 13g
Protein, 3g
Calcium, 2%
Iron, 6%

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION (Peanut Butter Icing)
Per serving (the amount that would go on one brownie)

Calories, 63
Carbs, 5g
Fat, 5g
Protein, 1g
Calcium, 0%
Iron, 1%

Leave a Reply

