Cinnamon Blondies

These days, the weather sucks where I am. Which meant I had to cancel my book club meeting last week; the upside of this was that I got to bake instead! So while my mum posted the first of many curry recipes she’s willing to share on this foodblog, I baked these delicious…

Cinnamon Blondies

Prep time: 20 min
Cook time: 25-35 min
Yields 1 8×8 pan, approx. 16 squares

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup unsalted butter or margarine
1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
1 large egg, plus one large egg yolk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350F, and grease a 8×8 baking pan.

Melt butter/margarine and brown sugar in a saucepan until the sugar has dissolved. Cook one more minute until mixture starts to bubble – DO NOT BOIL OR BURN! Set aside to cool (approx. 10 minutes).

Meanwhile, sift together flour, salt, and cinnamon.

Add egg, egg yolk, and vanilla to cooled brown sugar mixture, and blend. Gradually add to flour mixture until well blended.

Pour batter into the pan. Bake for 25-35 minutes (until a toothpick comes out clean, and the center is springy). When it has cooled slightly, run a knife around the edges to loosen from pan, and transfer to cooling rack. Let cool completely before serving.

Note from the original recipe: “For this recipe I used Ceylon cinnamon. Known as the true cinnamon, this variety of cinnamon is less spicy and more complex and fragrant with a hint of citrus. […] As one would expect, it is more expensive than the common variety of cinnamon.”

I used normal cinnamon, and I think my squares tasted delicious. I did find they needed to bake for closer to 35 minutes though; I took mine out at 30 minutes and the very center was still not fully baked. (Not that that stopped me from eating the whole pan!) I also added the dry ingredients to the wet ones, as the wet ones were in the bowl of my mixer already. (My mixer that my AMAZING, WONDERFUL boyfriend got me for Christmas. Don’t think I ever mentioned that before. It’s beautiful, and I love it and him!)

Another note – please watched the brown sugar mixture carefully on the stove. Sugar is easy to burn. I’ve done it before, and it’s not pleasant.

Click here for the original recipe.

Hope you all enjoy these squares as much as I did! Happy baking!

S.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION
(per 1 blondie)

Calories, 151
Carbs, 26g
Fat, 5g
Protein, 1g
Calcium, 3%
Iron, 5%

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Blondies

  1. 1 8×8 inch pan, and depending on how you big or small you cut them, 16 ish squares. I cut my pan into 16, and they were a nice size. Big enough to satisfy, not so big as to count as a meal.

    Let me know how yours turn out!

Leave a Reply

