Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce

My Mum called tonight and said she’d be home late. First thing she mentions I could make for dinner? The best dinner EVER! Super simple, easy to modify, and totally delicious! It’s very filling though, so take less than you think you might want. Enjoy!

Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce

Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 20 min

4 small boneless skinless chicken breasts
2 tbsp flour
Dash of salt and pepper
1 tbsp oil
3/4 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup cream cheese spread

Place the chicken inside a re-sealable plastic bag, along with the flour; shake the bag to coat the chicken. Heat oil in a large skillet; add the chicken, cook through. Remove from skillet but leave the drippings etc. Cover chicken to keep warm.

Add chicken broth to skillet; stir with a wooden spoon to scrape up the flavorful browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Add cream cheese, cook 2-3 minutes, until cream cheese is melted and sauce starts to thicken, stirring constantly with a wire whisk. Return chicken to skillet, cover with sauce, and cook until chicken is warm. Serve over rice.

Recommendations:
– Add 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese to sauce 1 minute before adding chicken.
– Add 2 tsp Dijon mustard to sauce before adding chicken.
– Top with 1 tbsp freshly chopped parsley.
– Top with 1 cup chopped fresh cherry tomatoes, and 2 tbsp fresh basil leaves.
– Top with 1 cup baby spinach leaves, and sprinkle with 2 slices cooked and crumbled bacon.

I personally add the parmesan cheese, which is delicious! Also, I cut the chicken into strips, or bite-sized pieces, because I dislike cooking with whole breasts. I would recommend NOT using a non-stick/teflon pan if you have one – more yummy brown bits stick that way!

This is seriously a delicious dish, and has many possibilities! Please share any variations you come up with!

The original came from a What’s Cooking magazine, from Fall 2007. It’s also available online here.

S.

*Be sure to check the comments for this post for some delicious variations!

4 thoughts on “Chicken in Creamy Pan Sauce

  1. This sounds delicious. Easy too. A good possibility for supper tonight. Do you mind if I put a link to this site on mine? Just a quick link in my blogroll.
    Have a good one!
    Danielle

  2. Great! I’ll do that! I do plan to make it for supper – my parents are coming over. My hubby isn’t a huge fan of rice (though I love it) so I think I might try serving it over egg noodles – see how that is. I think I’ll try the Parmesan cheese, and throw the cherry tomatoes on top. I also put mushrooms in almost everything, so I might try putting some in this sauce.
    I’ll let you know my results 🙂

  3. Just to let you know, it was delicious. I added the Parmesan cheese, and the cherry tomatoes, which gave it a very nice freshness. I did add the mushrooms, which were good, but they do render a lot of liquid so I had to let everything simmer a bit longer to reduce it down so it wasn’t too runny. It was great over egg noodles. A perfect, easy, mid week dish – thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

