White Chocolate Blueberry Scones

My favorite treat whenever I go for coffee is a scone, especially the white chocolate blueberry kind! My usual “next step” is to try to replicate it at home. And so, despite being sick and relatively miserable, I got into the kitchen and made these delicious beauties.

White Chocolate Blueberry Scones

Original recipe: click here

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 15-20 minutes
Yields: 8-10 scones

2 1/4 cups flour, sifted
2 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup chilled unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1 cup fresh blueberries
3/4 cup buttermilk, plus 2 tbsp – I used 2% milk.
2 tbsp powdered sugar

Combine flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Add butter to dry mixture, mix with pastry cutter until crumbly. Add white chocolate and blueberries, toss with flour mixture. Add buttermilk (3/4 cup and 2 tbsp), mix until ingredients hold together. Place mixture on floured surface, and pat into a 9×9 inch square. Cut into thirds, and cut each third into three triangles. Place on greased or lined cookie sheet, and bake for 15-20 minutes at 375F until dry and crumbly. Lightly dust with powdered sugar before serving.

So I have a few modifications. First note, I really did use butter. Margarine doesn’t chill quite the same way. I also used 2% milk (noted above) because I rarely use buttermilk so most of what I buy goes to waste. I think my scones tasted delicious, so the milk is a personal preference. Next time I will add less white chocolate chips (maybe only 1/3 cup), and a heaping cup of blueberries. I also found that adding the blueberries before the milk made it hard to mix in the milk, because the blueberries kept breaking (even when I switched and started mixing with my hands), so next time I make these I may switch the order in which the ingredients are added. The original recipe calls for powdered sugar to be added before baking the scones; the white powdered soaked in and made them really sweet, which while nice, isn’t really my cup of tea. And when it comes to cutting the scones, I really just cut 10 triangles, and reshaped them with my hands if I needed to.

Last note, the original recipe says to bake for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, my scones were definitely under-baked. So I put them in for another 5 minutes, then declared them to be done. Until I started chowing down on one, and found it was still a little doughy. So I popped them back into the oven for 5 minutes, without the heat on; I just used the residual heat in the oven to dry them out a bit. By then they were perfect.

I hope you enjoy these scones as much as I do! And please forgive the not-so-excellent picture! I’m trying my hand at taking pictures to compliment the recipes, but I’m not a great photographer. Hopefully I will improve with practice.

S.


2 thoughts on “White Chocolate Blueberry Scones

  1. These sound delicious. Great for a Saturday morning treat with coffee or tea. Did you know that you can make quick buttermilk at home? Using a one cup measure, put in one tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice (I’ve always used vinegar) and then fill to the top with regular milk. Let it sit for 5 minutes. Same as buttermilk. I’ve used this lots of times because I never have it on hand either and a few recipes I have call for it.
    Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

    • Thanks for the tip Danielle! That will come in handy in the future I’m sure! It’s always annoying to have to buy buttermilk because I need 1/2 cup for one recipe, and won’t use th rest before it goes bad.

      Let me know if you bake these how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

