Barley Risotto with Leeks, Lemon, and Peas

Really I guess this isn’t “take 1”, as my Mum has previously posted a recipe, but I’m starting a new thing. So, TAKE 1! This weekend my dear friend (and previous roommate!) Kayy sent me some recipes to share on my food blog. I hope this becomes a regular thing, as her recipes are often delicious, and fairly easy. So without further ado, here is the first of her recipes! (The comments in green are from Kayy; my comments are in my usual purple.)

Barley Risotto with Leeks, Lemon and Peas
Makes 4 to 6 servings
Approx. time, 60 minutes

1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup chopped leek (white and light-green parts only)
2 cloves garlic, minced I just used the stuff from the jar.
1/2 tsp fresh thyme Again, I just used half the amount of the dried version.
1 cup barley
1/4 white wine or vermouth
3 cups chicken stock (low fat, low sodium) – up to half a cup more if needed
1 cup fresh or frozen and thawed peas I used thawed frozen peas.
zest and juice of 1 medium lemon
2 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 tsp each salt and freshly ground pepper

1. In saucepan, heat oil over medium-high heat; cook leek, garlic and thyme stirring, for 3 minutes or until softened. It took a little longer for me. I don’t think I had the stove turned up enough as I was a little nervous about burning the leeks. Turns out there isn’t too much to worry about. Stir in barley until well coated.

2. Stir in wine until absorbed. Add stock and bring to boil. Cover and reduce heat to low; simmer, stirring occasionally, for 40 to 45 minutes or until barley is tender. If needed stir in a little more stock or hot water near the end of cooking time to maintain a creamy consistency. Stir in peas, lemon zest and juice and parmesan; season with salt and pepper.

This was a relatively simple meal to make and it was quite delicious. It was rather filling so I only ate about 3/4 of a serving. This is also a green-light meal on the GI Diet.

 

Originally found in: The G.I. Diet Cookbook

Note on the white wine / vermouth: My Mum and I usually substitute with chicken stock if we don’t have white wine or vermouth handy. However, for those who like drinking wine, opening a bottle for a recipe is never a bad thing! For a vegetarian version, use vegetable broth/stock instead of chicken.

I am going to try this recipe out sometime this week! Enjoy!

S. & Kayy

One thought on “Barley Risotto with Leeks, Lemon, and Peas

Leave a Reply

