Morrocan Quinoa Salad

As mentioned in my previous post, my dear friend Kayy sent me a couple of recipes to share on my blog this past weekend. The first went up Monday, and here, as promised, is the second. This quinoa salad sounds delicious and filling, and seems incredibly easy to put together. Enjoy! And thanks again to Kayy for sharing!

Moroccan Quinoa Salad
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 10 minute
Yields 6 servings

3 cups cooked quinoa (1 cup dried)
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 2 lemons) I just used lemon juice from the bottle and it tasted just fine.
3 tbsp olive oil
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp sugar
1-1/2 canned black beans
1-1/2 corn kernals (about 2 cobs) or defrosted frozen
1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced I would suggest using less onion. It’s very powerful in the salad and kind of overwhelmed the other flavours when I made it.
1 pint cherry tomatoes, quartered I really like tomatoes so I just cut up the amount I wanted and it didn’t make too much of a difference in the salad.
1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted
1/4 cup chopped green or black olives I don’t like olives, therefore I didn’t add them.
1/4 cup chopped mint
1/4 cup chopped fresh coriander

1. Cook quinoa, according to package instructions.
2. While quinoa is cooking, whisk together lemon juice, olive oil, min, salt and sugar into a vinaigrette in a small bowl.
3. Combine quinoa and all remaining ingredients, except fresh herbs, into a medium-sized bowl.
4. Drizzle with vinaigrette. Toss to combine.
5. Refrigerate for at least one hour to allow flavours to combine. Add fresh herbs just prior to serving. May be served warm or cold.

Originally found on the website 20 Minute Supper Club. Click here.

Note about the mint and coriander: For both these spices I just put in half of the amount asked of the dried version. I think the salad would be better if I had used fresh herbs.

This salad was great to take to school for lunch. It was a little smelly because of the onions but still tasted great. It also has a good chunk of protein in it (from the quinoa) so I didn’t need a lot with it. I kept this salad in my fridge for about a week and it kept very well.

I know I can’t wait to make this up on the weekend for lunches at work next week. Enjoy everyone!

S.

One thought on “Morrocan Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

