Spicy Pork Tenderloin with Maple Ginger Sauce

This is a recipe that was originally passed on to me by a coworker of mine. I’d mentioned I had a pork tenderloin defrosting for dinner and no idea what to do with it; she said I HAD to make this dish, and I’m really glad she insisted and I listened. This is easy, and always turns out well. I usually serve with rice and mixed steamed vegetables.

Spicy Pork Tenderloin with Maple Ginger Sauce
Prep time: 30 min (optional)
Cook time: 30 min
Yields: 2 servings

2 tsp chili powder
1 1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 1/2 lbs pork tenderloin – I use 1 pork tenderloin for 2 people.
2 tbsp butter/margarine
1 cup finely chopped onion
2 tbsp ginger – You can use either fresh ginger, or the stuff in the jar.
1 cup chicken broth – Vegetable broth can also be substituted.
1/2 cup maple syrup

Preheat oven to 375F.

Combine chili powder, salt, pepper, and cinnamon in a small bowl. Rub over pork, and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Heat oil in a large non-stick frying pan over medium-high heat. Add pork, and brown on all sides (approx. 6 minutes). Transfer pork to baking dish (coated with oil/cooking spray); bake for 20 minutes at 375F.

Meanwhile, melt butter (margarine) in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion, and cook 10 minutes until golden brown and fragrant, stirring frequently. Add ginger and cook 4 minutes. Stir in broth and syrup, scraping any brown bits off the bottom of the pot. Bring to a boil, and cook until reduced to 3/4 cup (approx. 10 minutes).

Pour sauce over pork, and bake for another 10 minutes. Cut pork into 1/4-inch-think round, and serve.

I like to cut the pork before cooking (personal preference); this means more surface area is covered in the rub, and it also cooks quickly. I have never refrigerated for 30 minutes; I will refrigerate when I have a liquid marinade, but with a dry marinade I find I just can’t be bothered.

Apologies for the lack of a picture this time around, it didn’t turn out all that well. I will try to bake this again and get a better picture.

Hope you enjoy this dish as much as I do!

S.

PS: I’m sure this dish came from some cookbook or website originally, so if you happen to know where the original recipe can be found, please let me know!

UPDATE, June 3 2011: I made this again for dinner last night, but as I was short on time, I had to find a way to speed this process up. The solution? My George Foreman grill. I grilled the pork instead of baking, and poured the sauce over the pork just before serving. Also because I was short on time, I did not add as much syrup or broth – I just kept splashing each in until I liked the flavor. I have to say, it turned out really well. I may continue using this cooking method from now on, it was that good. It reduced over-all cooking time to 20 minutes, which is as fast as rice can cook in my rice cooker.

Leave a Reply

