Spicy Shrimp Risotto

I honestly didn’t think this recipe would turn out as well as it did. Risotto to me is smooth and creamy, and homey. Shrimp is exotic, especially when it’s spicy. In the end though, I was really glad I found this recipe, and I am really glad I decided to give it a shot (the pizza in the freezer as backup certainly helped my decision). I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!

Spicy Shrimp Risotto
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 45 minutes
Yields: 4-6 servings

5 cups chicken or vegetable broth
3/4 cup white wine (or more broth)
4 tbsp butter or margarine
2 tsp garlic
1/4 tsp crushed dried red chilies
1/2 lb shrimp, shelled and de-tailed
3/4 cup onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 cups Arborio rice
2 tbsp fresh parsley

Pour chicken/vegetable broth and wine into pot, and put over medium heat; keep hot but do not boil.

Melt 2 tbsp butter/margarine over medium heat. Add 1 tsp garlic, red chilies, and shrimp. Cook until shrimp is cooked through. Set aside (keeping any remaining liquid as well).

Meanwhile, melt 2 tbsp butter/margarine in large pot. Add onion, 1 tsp garlic, and saute until onions begin to brown (approx. 4 min). Add Arborio rice, and stir to coat. Add 2 cups of the hot broth mixture, and simmer over medium-low heat. Add broth mixture 1 cup at a time until rice is al dente, and desired consistency is reached.

Add shrimp (& liquid, if any) and parsley to risotto, and stir well. Warm through, and serve with a garnish of parsley if desired.

Original recipe: click here.

I did adapt a few things in this recipe.
1. I cut down the amount of butter/margarine, as I found my onions were swimming in the original 4 tbsp of butter, and wouldn’t brown properly.
2. I did not have any liquid left after cooking the shrimp, so I sort of omitted that step.
3. The original recipe calls for dried red peppers, which I took to be red chilies; I believe I added approximately 4-5, and would add another 1-2 next time. Wait to add more to taste until shrimp is incorporated into risotto.

Enjoy!

S.

For a basic risotto recipe, see my Risotto alla Milanese recipe.

One thought on “Spicy Shrimp Risotto

Leave a Reply

