Balsamic Bruschetta, & variations

Before I actually started to like tomatoes, bruschetta and salsa were two of the only things that are definitively tomato-based that I loved. And ever since I bought my tomato plant, I have had a craving for bruschetta. So, since I had a party to attend last night, I made some bruschetta to take along with me. Sadly, my tomato plant hasn’t given me any ripe tomatoes yet, so I did have to buy these from the grocery store.

Beneath my recipe, you’ll find a variation from my dear friend BV, soon to be BW, whose party I attended last night.

Balsamic Bruschetta
Prep time: 15 min
Yields: 2-3 cups (ish, I didn’t actually measure)

6 roma tomatoes, diced
1 red onion, diced (optional)
1/3 cup fresh basil – I sprinkled in dried basil to taste, as my basil plant died
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp olive oil
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper

Toss tomatoes, basil, and garlic together in a bowl. Mix in balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Serve on french bread.

*Note: this recipe is best made 1-2 hrs ahead of time, so the flavors can blend and be absorbed.

BV’s version: use parsley instead of basil, and no balsamic vinegar; serve on whole wheat tortilla chips (I think that’s what they were).

Please note you can serve this dish on whatever you choose: bread, crackers, tortilla chips, gluten-free crackers, etc. Also, play with the flavours – add more basil, less balsamic, more black pepper, etc. Make it your own!

This recipe is based on the original, which can be found here: click.

Hope you enjoy chowing down on this bruschetta as much as I do!

S., & BV

2 thoughts on “Balsamic Bruschetta, & variations

  1. I love Bruschetta, and I LOOOVE balsamic vinegar. This sounds delicious. I have also enjoyed crumbling in a bit of feta cheese, which I suppose puts a bit of a Greek spin on it.
    Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

