Homemade Sweet & Sour Sauce – not-so-secret family recipe

This recipe was passed to me by my dear friend JT, who got it from her mother. I’ve only made this sauce once and it’s already on my favorite recipes list. I hope you all enjoy it as much as we did!

Homemade Sweet & Sour Sauce
Prep & Cook time: 10 minutes
Yields: approx. 1 cup sauce (again, I didn’t measure)

3 tbsp brown sugar
1/4 tsp dry mustard powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
2 tbsp cornstarch
1/4 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup ketchup
1 1/4 cup water
1 tbsp soy sauce – I used low-sodium soy sauce

Combine ingredients in a pot over medium-high heat; stir occasionally until thickened.

Recommendations

We made a chicken and veggie stir-fry with this sauce, and served it over rice. I added Sriracha hot sauce (the red rooster stuff) because I like things spicy, and sprinkled with sesame seeds just before serving.

JT also recommends pork tenderloin, ribs, and meat balls. You could also go vegetarian and do a tofu or shrimp stir-fry.

This sauce is very versatile, so please share your own recommendations for what else it can be served with. Enjoy!

S., &  JT

One thought on “Homemade Sweet & Sour Sauce – not-so-secret family recipe

Leave a Reply

