Basic Crepes

I have loved crepes for a long time, but I especially fell in love with the crepes in France. What I fell in love was their simplicity. My hands-down favorite was banana and sugar. I have been thinking of trying to make my own crepes for a while now, and finally found the time and courage. After all, crepes are supposed to be really hard to make right? Without the right pan, flipping tool, skill, etc. Luckily my dear Aunt V opened my eyes and showed me how easy it can be to whip up these delicious French creations.

Basic Crepe Batter Recipe
Yields 10-12 crepes

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tbsp melted butter or margarine
1 1/4 cup skim milk (I used almond milk)
2 eggs
3/4 tsp salt

Combine ingredients in blender and mix until smooth. If combining by hand, mix eggs and milk together first, and combine slowly with dry ingredients. Refrigerate batter for at least 30 minutes.

Now comes the fun part: making the crepes. Don’t worry, you’ll be fine.

First, you want a good pan. I used one with a flat bottom, approx 8-10″ diameter, and non-stick surface (it’s not teflon, but some crazy heavy stuff that is amazing). Heat your pan over medium-high heat; once hot, brush a small amount of oil or margarine to coat bottom of pan.

Pour 2-3 tbsp (I used my 1/3 cup measure, worked perfectly) into the hot pan. Remove pan from heat and swirl until batter coats bottom in a thin layer.

Return pan to heat, let crepe cook until edges are light brown. When a crepe is ready to flip, it will move easily at the touch of a spatula / flipping instrument. Slide your flipping instrument under your crepe (I used a long thin flipper instead of the usual fat ones), and just flip the crepe. (Trust me: don’t think about it, just do it.) Cook for 15 seconds on second side. Voila! You have now made a crepe.

(If you want to freeze your crepes for later use, layer wax paper between the crepes.)

Good luck, and have fun with it! I found this recipe on World Of Crepes, and there are tons of recipes there for fillers and such. And of course send me any delicious fillings you create yourselves!

S.

2 thoughts on “Basic Crepes

Leave a Reply

