Fool-Proof Standby Stir Fry

Whenever I don’t know what to make for dinner, or I happen to have random meats and vegetables kicking around, or I’m just feeling extra lazy, I turn to my stir fries. You can turn almost anything in a stir fry in 30 minutes or less. Below are my suggestions that make a great dinner- please comment with your own favorites!

Meat suggestions:
– Shrimp
– Beef
– Chicken
– Pork
– Tofu (firm)

Vegetable suggestions:
– Bell peppers
– Mushrooms
– Onion
– Spinach, bok choy, kale, etc
– Zucchini
– Bamboo
– Water chestnuts
– Snow Peas
– Carrots
– Broccoli
– Cashews
– Peanuts

Sauce suggestions:
I usually grab whatever flavor of VH prepared sauce I’m in the mood for at the grocery store*. There are lots of options in the Asian/Ethnic aisle. Then I add in:
– Sriracha hot sauce, or any other hot sauce you like
– Honey, 1-2 tbsp
– Soy sauce
– Worcestershire sauce
– I also have a homemade sweet and sour sauce that uses common ingredients found in most pantries, posted here.

Serve on rice or noodles, sprinkle sesame seeds on top, and call it dinner.

*I know this might be considered cheating but the point of this meal is that it’s quick and easy. Having prepared bottles of sauce in my pantry or fridge help a lot.

20120724-204707.jpg

Leave a Reply

