Savory Crepes for dinner

Last week I was on a weird dinner kick – I tried lots of new things. One thing I have only really ever had once before for dinner are savory crepes. And really, they were Dutch pannenkoeks at the Pfanntastic Pannenkoek Haus in Calgary (on Crowchild right by Glenmore – GREAT restaurant, I highly recommend it). So last week I decided to make a batch of crepes, came up with two fillings, and voila, dinner was served. It was pretty tasty, if I do say so myself. It’s a dinner we are definitely going to have again in the future.

To start, I made one batch of my Basic Crepes. Then I made two fillings for the crepes:

Filling no. 1
Bacon, chopped into pieces and cooked until crispy
Apples and leeks, chopped/sliced and sauteed in honey and cider vinegar (as seen in my recipe for Soaked Pork Tenderloin with Sauteed Apples and Leeks).

Filling no. 2
Asparagus, boiled until soft
Hollandaise sauce (or Bernaise if you prefer)

Both were delicious, though I preferred the bacon/apple/leek combination. Iain polished off the last crepe by filling it with banana slices and peanut butter, which I think was his personal favorite of the evening.

If you have any other filling ideas please share!

Leave a Reply

