Chocolate Birthday Cake

It was my birthday this weekend past (Happy Birthday to me, yay!) and Mother Nature decided to celebrate with a massive snow storm of 20cm of snow and blowing wind and general winter misery. We had to postpone the lovely birthday dinner my Mom planned for me, and the snow kept us inside, which meant left-over pizza for dinner. Not to let a snowy Sunday go to waste, and it was my birthday after all, I decided to bake myself chocolate birthday cake, because some days you can make your cake and eat it too! I found this fairly simple recipe in my Cooking Light collection and was lucky enough to have everything I needed. Ok, I barely had enough cocoa powder, but I made it work. And of course I made my cake dairy-free so that my boyfriend can help me eat it, otherwise I will feel really fat by the end of the week! Hope you enjoy as much as I did!

Chocolate Birthday Cake, aka Fudgy Sheet Cake
Prep time: 20 min
Bake time: 30 min
Bake temp: 350F
Yields one 9″x13″ sheet cake, or two 8″ round cakes

Cake
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup boiling water
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 cup margarine
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 cup rice milk, vanilla flavour

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 9″x13″ or two 8″ round cake pans.

Combine cocoa powder and boiling water in heat-proof dish; allow to cool.

Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt.

With electric mixer, beat sugar, margarine, and vanilla. Add eggs, and beat until well blended. Beat in cocoa mixture. Add flour mixture and milk gradually, alternating between the two; start and end with flour mixture.

Pour batter into prepared pan(s). Bake for 25-30 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then transfer to cooling rack.

Frosting
3 cups icing sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup rice milk, vanilla flavour
2 tsp butter, softened (or margarine)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine icing sugar and cocoa powder. Add milk, butter, and vanilla; mix until smooth. Ice cake when cool.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

