Crispy Fried Shrimp

I think this is likely one of the first dishes I ever made. I was probably 8 or 9 years old, and I remember my Dad helping me cook this up in the kitchen. I haven’t made these shrimp in ages, but the other night I was having lettuce wraps for dinner and thought these would make a nice addition. Hope you enjoy as much as I do!

Crispy Fried Shrimp
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 5 minutes or so

Flour
Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder to taste
Eggs, beaten
Panko bread crumbs
Vegetable oil

Depending on how many people you want to feed changes the amounts of the ingredients. You want enough flour, eggs, and bread crumbs to coat the shrimp. Be generous with the pepper and garlic powder.

Heat oil in large pan over medium heat. You want enough oil to coat the bottom of the pan.

Meanwhile combine flour, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in one dish. Beat eggs in a second dish. Pour bread crumbs into a third dish.

Remove shells from shrimp, but leave tails on if desired.

Coat shrimp in flour mixture, then eggs, then bread crumbs.

Once oil is hot, add shrimp to pan carefully and fry until pink and cooked, and bread crumbs are crispy and brown.

Serve alone, or with your favourite dipping sauce.

20130413-163443.jpg

Leave a Reply

