Orange Carrot Muffins

If you’ve never had an orange carrot muffin from Tim Horton’s, you are missing out. I have recently become obsessed with these muffins, so of course I had to try baking them at home. It took a while to find a good recipe, but I am really pleased with how these turned out. And I have convinced myself that they are a little bit healthy too. Hope you enjoy as much as we have been!

Orange Carrot Muffins
Bake temp: 400F
Bake time: 18-20 minutes
Yields 1 dozen muffins

1 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup quick-cook oatmeal
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp orange zest (one large naval orange)
3/4 cup orange juice (one large naval orange)
1 cup grated carrot
1/2 cup shredded sweet coconut
1 egg
1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil

Sift dry ingredients together, add wet ingredients and mix thoroughly. If batter is too dry, add a touch of water. Fill a greased or lined muffin tin with batter, half  to two-thirds full. Bake in oven at 400F for approx 18-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool and enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Orange Carrot Muffins

    • You could try, however the muffins will probably be drier since there is only orange juice and oil for liquid ingredients. Melt the butter first and then add it, and keep an eye on your better in case you need to add a bit more orange juice or maybe even water to try to keep them moist.

      • I used melted coconut oil and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I ended up cooking them for 25 mins and they turned out great! My kids gobbled them up. Thanks 🙂

  1. I was happy to see this recipe since my one year old daughter loved the Tim Horton’s muffin, but its not the healthiest treat option. I did make a few changes to the recipe. Unsweetened applesauce instead of sugar, dried cherries instead of coconut and coconut oil instead of the other oils. They turned out great, now my daughter can enjoy and I have peace of mind knowing its better for her.

Leave a Reply

