French-Style Chicken In Cream Sauce (Julia Child)

So recently my friend Janelle introduced me to the nearby farmer’s market. My two primary reasons for not venturing to a farmer’s market in the past have been 1) it’s way more expensive than the grocery store and 2) it’s far from where I live. Also, I’ve heard you have to go super early to get the good produce. So I guess that’s three reasons. I am extremely happy to say that none of my presumptions are true. There’s a farmer’s market about 5 minutes from my house and the cost is on par or maybe a touch more than the grocery store. But the bonus is that it’s all certified organic and I know there’s nothing bad for me in any of the food.

So the second part to this post is that my mother asked me to cook a French-themed dinner for her for her birthday. So I flipped through some Julia Child one day and found this gem. I got up Saturday morning and went to the farmer’s market and got all the ingredients fresh that morning (which is very European) and this dinner turned out extremely well. I also made: French Onion Soup (recipe to come later this week); spinach, arugula, and tomato salad; and roasted potatoes and carrots. This dish would also go well with rice , potatoes done almost any way, and steamed vegetables. Enjoy!

French-Style Chicken in a Cream Sauce
Cook time: 20-30 minutes
Serves: 4

4 chicken breasts, boneless/skinless
Butter for frying
1 sweet onion, chopped
Salt & pepper to taste
¼ tsp curry powder (more if you want more of a “kick”)
Generous splash Grand Marnier (or brandy (such as Calvados*), or other liqueur of choice)
½ cup heavy cream (I recommend whipping cream, 35%), warm (keep warm over low heat in a pot)

Heat butter in a pan over medium heat; add chicken to pan and brown on both sides. Remove from pan and set aside.

Add chopped onions to pan and fry until fragrant and golden. Return chicken to pan, and season with salt/pepper/curry powder. Add a generous splash of Grand Marnier (or other liqueur) and allow to boil off, turning chicken often to baste. When chicken is almost finished cooking, add cream and let this simmer until chicken is cooked through. Serve with rice, potatoes, steamed vegetables, salad – whatever you feel like!

*Calvados is an apple brandy that is popular in France. Not the most budget-friendly option but delicious!

This recipe originally comes from Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child.

Leave a Reply

