Apple & Cinnamon Scones

I have discovered that scones, being so easy to make, are becoming a regular thing in my kitchen. I usually have some fruit and spices to add into the scones to make them flavorful, and they are very easy to take to the office. This week, I had some extra apples lying around, and the chai tea I was drinking reminded me how much I love cinnamon. I use the same basic recipe as my Pear & Cardamom Scones, and I just switch out the spices and the fruit. Delicious!

Apple & Cinnamon Scones
Prep time: 15 minutes
Bake time: 20-25 minutes
Bake temp: 350F

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup white sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3 tbsp chilled butter or margarine
1/2 cup buttermilk or cream (150ml)*
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 gala apple, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 large egg white, lightly beaten

Combine dry ingredients (flour through cinnamon) in a large bowl. Add butter, and mix until crumbly with a pastry blender or your hands.

Combine buttermilk, vanilla extract, and egg. Stir in apple. Add buttermilk mixture to flour mixture, stirring until just moist (dough will be sticky).

Turn dough out onto lightly floured surface and knead gently 4 or 5 times. Dust top of dough with 1-2 tbsp flour. Pat into 8-inch circle, and transfer to greased or lined baking sheet. Cut dough into 8 wedges and spread out on baking sheet. Brush egg white over top of dough. Bake at 350 for 20 to 25 minutes until golden and toothpick comes out clean.

Serve warm.

*This time I used rice milk (plain), and the scones turned out beautifully. And now they are dairy-free – yay!

Leave a Reply

