Ham & Pea Soup with Dumplings, Trini-style

So, anyone who knows me already knows this, but here it is for those of you who do not know me well- I have a great dislike for green peas. Therefore ham and pea soup, which my hubby grew up on, is not a thing I ever make. The weather got cold a couple of weeks ago, and I decided I wanted both soup and ham. I am not sure what guided me to my friend Brianna’s food blog So Hungary to browse her recipes. I found her Humble Ham and Pea Soup (with Dumplings), and decided that it didn’t look so bad. The dumplings are what really sold me; growing up in the Caribbean, dumplings are put into all soups, stews, curries, etc. So I bought some ham and some peas, and I thought I would give it a shot. I am so happy with how this soup turned out. I hope you enjoy this melding of Iain’s and my childhood favorites.

Ham & Pea Soup with Dumplings, Trini-style
Prep time: 5-10 minutes
Cook time: 1 1/2 hrs to 2 hrs
Serves: 6-8

Olive oil
2 sweet onions, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
5 medium garden carrots, chopped
1lb smoked ham, chopped into bite-sized pieces
12 cup water
3 dried bay leaves
3 sprigs fresh rosemary
Juice of 1/2 lemon
2 cups sweet summer peas, frozen
Salt & Pepper to taste

1 cup flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup water

Heat oil in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add onions, celery, and carrots; sauté until onions are soft and translucent. Add ham, sauté for a few more minutes to heat the ham and get some crispness into the edges. Add water, bay leaves, rosemary, and lemon juice. Simmer for 1 hr.

Meanwhile mix together flour and salt, and add water by the tbsp until dough is formed. (You might not use the full 1/2 cups.) Roll dough between hands and drop 1/2″ long by 1/4″ wide dough balls into soup. Simmer for another 30 minutes.

When soup is about 5 minutes from being done, add peas, and season to taste with salt and pepper.

IMG_0119.JPG

Leave a Reply

