Cajun Chicken and Shrimp “Gumbo”

So I found this recipe on Pinterest for Cajun Chicken and Mushroom “stew”. I did not have an onion, so I had to modify that. And I didn’t have mushrooms, so those came out of the recipe. And I was too lazy to cook my rice on the side, so I added it into the pot with more broth like a gumbo or a jambalaya. And I had shrimp, so I threw some of those in. This is what came out of my many modifications, and I think it was just delicious!

Cajun Chicken and Shrimp “Gumbo”
Prep time: 5-10 minutes
Cook time: 45 minutes
Serves: 4

4 chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
2 tbsp flour*
1 tbsp onion powder
Salt and Pepper to taste
Oil, butter, or margarine for frying
2 bell peppers, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 3/4 cups chicken broth
1/4 tsp cayenne powder
1 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
Dash Angostura bitters (if you have)
Hot sauce to taste
3/4 cup uncooked rice
20 large tiger shrimp (approx. 5 per serving)

Heat oil or butter or margarine in a pot over medium heat. A stainless steel (IE not non-stick) is preferred.

Toss chicken with flour, onion powder, salt and pepper. Add to pot, and cook through. Remove from pot, leaving behind all the brown bits stuck to the pan. Add bell pepper and garlic and sauté until peppers start to soften, and garlic is fragrant. Add chicken broth, cayenne, Worcestershire, bitters, and hot sauce; stir to combine and get up all the brown bits on the bottom of the pan. Add uncooked rice and shrimp, and simmer for 20 minutes until rice and shrimps are cooked.

Serve with cornbread if desired, and enjoy!

*If you want to go gluten-free, use cornstarch instead of flour. I would use less so that you do not have a cornstarch-y flavor in the dish.

If you have mushrooms I think they would go well in this dish. You could also add spinach or kale if you want some greens.

Leave a Reply

